Geek Chic Cosmetics: This Is My Design and Strange Aeons

Yesterday I received my very first order from Geek Chic Cosmetics.  After spying on their website for a very long time, I decided to give it a go with their 4th of July sale.  It was perfect timing because a few weeks earlier they had released their Hannibal-inspired collection called This Is My Design.  Obviously I had to try it!  It also was the perfect excuse to pick up some samples of their Cthulhu/Lovecraft-inspired collection—called Strange Aeons—that I’ve been eyeing since its release.

Geek Chic Cosmetics’ eyeshadows

I had to wait a long time for the order to arrive but they kindly apologized and explained why (a large amount of orders placed during the sale) without me having to contact them first.  A+ for customer service!

From L to R: He’s Eating Them, and Professional Curiosity

Since it was my first purchase from the brand, I decided to buy only two fullsized eyeshadows and four samples.  As you can see in the pictures, the samples are quite generous.

Tattle Crime (without flash)

Tattle Crime (with flash)

Ravenstag (without flash)

Ravenstag (with flash)

 

From This Is My Design:

Professional Curiosity is described on their website as a “plum-toned taupe pearl based shadow with aqua and cobalt shimmer and a subtle turquoise shift.”

He’s Eating Them is described on their website as a “rusty metallic chestnut red.”

Ravenstag is described on their website as a “blackened starry blue with a hint of red shimmer.”

Tattle Crime is described on their website as a “bold copper based red shadow with oodles of copper and red sparkle.”

Swatches on Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion. From T to B: Professional Curiosity, He’s Eating Them, Tattle Crime, and Ravenstag.

I wish I could capture in pictures the shimmer of Professional Curiosity!

 

Antequarian (with flash)

Madness (with flash)

 

From Strange Aeons:

Antequarian is described on their website as a “glowing copper with gold iridescence and sparkle.”

Madness is described on their website as a “deep wine shade with multi-colored sparkle.”

 

Cellphone picture because my camera battery died. Swatches on Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion. From T to B: Antequarian, Madness, and He’s Eating Them (comparing them because they are similar in the jar).

 

I think the descriptions are accurate.  My pictures don’t do justice to the prettiness of them—even though I tried to translate it into the image.  The best thing is: they blend like a dream!

A plus for me is that the shimmer is very subtle once applied and blended, making them more wearable (I’m a creature of mattes).

Professional Curiosity (inner corner), He’s Eating Them (outer corner and crease), Madness (lower lashline) and Antequarian (lower lashline)

Tattle Crime (lid), He’s Eating Them (crease), and Ravenstag (lower lashline)

Feeling naked without eyeliner…

 

I’m really impressed with the quality of these eyeshadows considering the price and the amount you get.  I’m tempted to buy a fullsized Antequarian, and Tattle Crime—because COPPERS with these chestnut-amber-ish eyes of mine!

 

Which eyeshadow from Geek Chic Cosmetics should I buy next?

3 Comments

Filed under Make up

3 responses to “Geek Chic Cosmetics: This Is My Design and Strange Aeons

  1. Wow! Professional Curiosity and He’s eating them are amazing!
    I love the looks you created, that neutral eye ♥
    Not sure what you should buy next, but please share it with us! *_*

  2. They look beautiful pretty and dark at the same time!

Leave a Reply

