Black on Black: Affordable Plus-Sized Clothing for the Darkly Inclined

I know that finding nice, beautiful clothes is a pain in the ass when you can’t wear less than a size 12.  That is ten times harder when you don’t like light-colored clothes with disgusting shapes or prints, created to hide the aberration that plus-sized people is for societal standards.  When I gained weight, it was hard at first but I accepted it and moved on.  I still wanted to be myself, proud and all.  That included dressing like I always did because the only thing that changed was a number.  My new size did not redefined what I was, and I still wanted to dress my way: sometimes fancy, sometimes grungy, sometimes very feminine, but always darkly inclined.

Inspired by my eternal interest in the dark side of everything, and by Haute Macabre’s The Haute List, I decided to create a list of clothing for the darkly inclined plus-sized lady.  More than it being a reference list for myself, it is a way to share with other plus size and darkly-inclined creatures that there are affordable options for us.  I tried to make this a varied collection but, honestly, it could be seen as an example of my closet.  I do love all these pieces.

(1) Victorian Style Blouse, TheLastKult on Etsy, $104.52 USD

The Last Kult


(2) Auburn Blazer, Carmakoma, $55.50 USD

Carmakoma


(3) Black Magic III Velvet Burnout Leggings, voclothingshop on Etsy, $75 USD

voclothingshop


(4) Bow Baby Circle Skirt in Black, Domino Dollhouse, $45.95 USD

Domino Dollhouse


(5) Lace Up Corset Dress, Torrid, $68.50 USD

Torrid


(6) Bone Skull Print Skater Dress, Torrid, $48.50 USD

Torrid


(7) Peasant Sweetheart Dress, Torrid, $68.50 USD

Torrid


(8) Sweetheart Knit Top, Torrid, $48.50 USD

Torrid


(9) Penny Dreadful Scorpion Blouse, Torrid, $38.50 USD

Torrid


(10) Tripp Sleeveless Military Jacket, Torrid, $78.50 USD

Torrid


(11) Retro Chic Sunglasses Print Collar Cardigan, Torrid, $48.50 USD

Torrid


(12) Plaid Textured Skater Dress, Torrid, $58.50 USD

Torrid


(13) Body-Conscious Dress with Lace Up Detail, ASOS, $51 USD

ASOS Curve


(14) Blouse with 70’s Contrast Bow, ASOS, $54 USD

ASOS Curve


(15) Eyelash Fit & Flare Dress, F21, $29.90 USD

F21


(16) Colorblocked Peter Pan Collar Top, F21, $17.90 USD

F21


(17) Faux Shearling Moto Jacket, F21, $37.90 USD

F21


(18) Box-Pleated Overall Skirt, F21, $37.90 USD

F21


(19) All About Adisa Dress, Modcloth, $119.99 USD

Modcloth


(20) Velvet Rope Dress in Noir, Modcloth, $89.99 USD

Modcloth


(21) Record Time Dress, Modcloth, $54.99 USD

Modcloth


(22) Make a Mission Statement Top, Modcloth, $39.99 USD

Modcloth


(23) To Quiche Their Own Cardigan, Modcloth, $54.99 USD

Modcloth


(24) Chic-ing of Which Skirt, Modcloth, $59.99 USD

Modcloth


(25) Fine and Sandy Blazer in Green Velvet, Modcloth, $79.99 USD

Modcloth


(26) Black and Cream Lace Dress, Hot Topic, $42.50 USD

Hot Topic


(27) Tripp Red Plaid Vest, Hot Topic, $88.50 USD

Hot Topic


(28) Spin Doctor Selena Dress, Domino Dollhouse, $75 USD

Domino Dollhouse


(29) Khloé Dress, Chubby Cartwheels, $69 USD

Chubby Cartwheels


(30) Crucifix Dress, Domino Dollhouse, $32 USD

Domino Dollhouse

I hope you enjoyed this collection!  I didn’t include pants/jeans because those are easier to find.

If you liked this kind of posts, let me know and I will continue to do them in every changing season. ♥

2 Comments

Filed under Others

2 responses to “Black on Black: Affordable Plus-Sized Clothing for the Darkly Inclined

Leave a Reply

